Experiences

Shaken Up and Tossed Around (Worship Camp 2016, part 3)

The week that I spent at Worship Camp definitely rocked my world, and if I told you that I left without a totally different perspective on things, I would be lying big time.

Thursday night after the concert, I took a minute to look back on my anxiety filled week. Do you know what I realized? IT WASN’T REALLY THAT BAD. I know, I know. You’re probably thinking about how I wrote 2 previous posts about how scared I was and how the first 2 days all I wanted to do was go home. Well, yes I did, because it was true in the moment. Hindsight is always 20/20 and looking back, I realize that if I would’ve let go of my fears and let God take control, I would’ve had a much easier time.

I also learned that my brain likes to blow up the bad things, and then I tend to dwell on them. I actually had an amazing time at Worship Camp, but at the time all my brain could see was the negative. For example: Reality – I hit a note off-key during my audition. Not too bad, right? My brain, however tends to take that truth and run like the wind with it until it turns into something like – My entire audition was off-key, everyone is better than me, I can’t sing at all, and I shouldn’t even be here. I know that a lot of other people do this with their thoughts as well, and most of the time it’s subconscious. I’d like to challenge you, as well as myself, that the next time you think negatively take a moment to dissect your thoughts and look for the truth in them. Maybe you did splurge on your diet a little bit, but you most definitely did not gain 20 pounds in one day. 2 Corinthians 10:5 says – “We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” Don’t let your thoughts lie to you. Take them captive and make them obedient to the truth we find in Christ.

I learned what true worship was. Again, you’re probably looking at me like I’m nuts and saying “You lead worship at your church!” You’re right, I do. The thing is when we do something so much, it often becomes routine and it looses its shine to us. Leading people into the presence of the Almighty God just becomes a 3 hour Tuesday practice, home practice throughout the week, 1 hour practice Sunday, and a “final copy” of your work in front of the congregation. It becomes mundane, and you can forget why you are actually doing it. Worship Camp recharged my passion for worship, and re-instilled in me why I love praising God so much.

Dr.O’Neel shared and acrostic with us, that he had gotten from somewhere else, but for the life of me I can’t remember where he said it was from, so this is me giving credit where credit is due – I just don’t know where the credit goes. Ha! Anyway, the word was worshiper and it went like this:

Wonder (at God and His creation)

Obey (His commands)

Revere (The Lord)

Serve (God and others)

Hide (In God’s safety)

Inspire (Others to worship)

Pray (Without ceasing)

Exalt (Give honor to the Lord)

Repent (Confess your sins and change your ways)

When you really look into the actions of a “worshiper” it all starts to make sense that none of it is about you, and what you can do. It is all about God, and what He has given you, and what He can do through you. Dr.O said something to the effect of – “Worship is an action and a lifestyle. You can’t be a worshiper Sunday and then Monday go off and do whatever you want. Worship is the way you live your life, the word itself is an action. You can not be a passive worshiper.” That really stuck with me. It’s not about hours of practice or a “final copy” of the songs you put out Sunday morning. Worship is about living in such a way that everything you do is worshiping God.

Worship Camp was an amazing experience, and I’m glad I got to have it. Even though I had a hard time while I was there, I can honestly look back and see that through my struggles I had a great time. I learned so much and met so many amazing people, and I’m really grateful for that. It was such a huge learning experience and I really got a chance to grow. My encouragement to you is, if you want to do something, do it. Even if you’re really afraid. Chances are you’ll learn a lot from your experience, and looking back on it, things might not have been as scary as they seemed in the moment.

 

Leave a Reply

