Devotionals

Help?

Help is a strange concept to some of us. Some use other’s help as a crutch. Others simply never ask for it. Both are dangerous concepts. I’m one of those people who never ask for help. I’d rather struggle through and take forever to do things all by myself than ask someone who could help me get it done in half the time. Some call me stubborn, I call myself independent. Recently some things have happened that have “forced me to my knees” so to speak. I’ve been driven to ask for help and let me tell you I did NOT like it. Not one single bit. When I ask for help I always feel like I’m a burden to the one I’m asking, or I feel like they don’t really want to help me, even if they’ve offered their help. I often times don’t take my problems to God because I don’t want to bother Him. I won’t ask the Fixer of all problems to fix my problems, because someone else out there might have bigger problems, more pressing problems, or more important problems. I know I’m not the only one. This is a common mind-set to have. As Christians, our Father God desires to have a relationship with each and every one of us, and we forget that a lot of times.

I laugh when I think of how God sees us sometimes. Weak little humans with their backpacks all filled with heavy problems, trying to climb to the top of the mountain of life by going up the steepest incline. Then there is God. Right next to us, ready and willing to take the backpack from us and show us the path we should be taking, but we are too stubborn to ask Him to do it. Perhaps because someone else’s backpack is heavier, or their path is steeper, or it seems like it is more important that they get to the top first.

This is doubt. We forget that God is infinite. If He can create the world from nothing, and sustain life continually, He can definitely carry all of His children’s backpacks. Matthew 6:26 says the following: “Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are?” God even cares for the problems of the birds, and we are worth much more than birds to Him. Our problems are not insignificant. They are not invalid. They are not un-cared about. No, God cares deeply for each and every one of us, and wants to help us with our problems. We are just too stubborn to ask for help. Through everything that has happened, I’ve learned that we aren’t expected to do everything on our own. Sometimes we need to ask for help, and as hard as that may be, it is totally okay to do. The Bible says in James 4:2 “You do not have, because you do not ask.” If you are hard-headed like me, you think that you should be able to handle everything all by yourself, and if you don’t, then you are just a weakling. One of the most important things I’ve learned through this, is that there is no shame in asking for help. Does that mean that I like to ask for help? No, not by any means. It does mean though, that I am trying to take my problems to God and trust that He will take care of them, and me. It also means that I’ve started to acknowledge that my flesh is weak and that sometimes I need to ask other people for help, counsel, advice, and prayer. Asking for help still isn’t in my realm of comfort, but I am sure trying to get better at doing it. I’d like to encourage you today, if you are struggling with something, take it before Jesus Christ, the author and finisher of our faith. I would also like to encourage you to seek out help from another person whom you can trust. I promise you, it is much easier when you don’t have to bear your burden all alone. In Matthew 11:29-30 Jesus says “Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

Don’t be ashamed to ask for help. We weren’t made to do this thing alone.

Click here to listen to “No Man Is An Island” by Tenth Avenue North

Leave a Reply

