Devotionals

Life.Faith.Hope.

Life is a little weird, honestly. Nothing seems to be constant. We get attached to things and people, just to watch them leave. We embrace change, then we hate it. We welcome new things, then reject them once the novelty wears off. We interact, and we pull away. See? There is no constant.

Nothing is guaranteed, and I think that is why life can be so scary.

We wander around and hope to find something that is forever, and when we don’t we fold up inside and doubt that anything is. That is where faith comes in. Finally a constant! Something we always have, to cling to, to live by. Hebrews 6:19A says- “We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure.”

Our souls long for something, anything, that is constant. Faith in Jesus Christ is that thing.

Don’t get me wrong, faith is not easy. I repeat: faith.is.not.easy!! Every single person doubts, it is a part of human nature. Sometimes it is hard to see God. Especially in rough situations. The last thing we want to do is trust. We want to shake our fists at heaven and yell “Hey! I’m still down here! Yeah, remember me? Do you hear anything that I say?” but the truth is, God is sovereign, and He always hears us, though less ideal situations make us think otherwise. Romans 5:3 says this – “We can rejoice too when we run into problems. For we know that they help us develop endurance.” Developing endurance is not an easy thing to do, in fact, it is quite painful; endurance makes us strong and helps us be able to withstand more. I know for a fact though, that having this constant faith gives me hope. Hope in my brightest days, hope in my darkest nights, and hope everywhere in between. My soul has something to cling to, when everything else is changing fast. My life may be a roller-coaster of changes, of people, of events; but I have a seat belt on this roller-coaster. Something that straps me in, holds me tight, and makes me willing to wait out the ride. In the words of Edward Mote – “My hope is built on nothing less, than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.” I don’t know where all of you stand with the Lord, but if by chance you are looking for something constant in your life, turn to Jesus Christ. He is the only constant thing that you can have in this world. I’m not telling you that becoming a Christian will make your life easy – it won’t. I am, however, telling you that when life gets tough, you will have something to hold on to. You, too, will have a seat belt on this roller-coaster that we call life. And let me tell you, that will make life a whole lot less scary.

 

Leave a Reply

